Who We Are

Buckeye Hills Regional Council is a council of governments dedicated to improving the lives of residents in southeast Ohio.

By working collaboratively with elected officials across Athens, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Perry, and Washington counties, we grow strong communities through our five divisions: Aging & Disability, Community Development, Mapping & Data, Population Health, and Transportation Planning.

We are designated as:

  • an Area Agency on Aging

  • the District 18 Liaison for the Ohio Public Works Commission

  • an Economic Development District

  • a Local Development District

  • a Regional Transportation Planning Organization

  • the Southeast Ohio Aging & Disability Resource Network

Our Values

For five decades, Buckeye Hills Regional Council has maintained the same convictions that allowed us to establish diverse and lasting partnerships that formed the framework through which people working together could effectively represent our residents at the state and federal levels.


Our Staff

In 1970, Buckeye Hills employed 5 staff members. Today, we have nearly 65 professionals on staff dedicated to serving southeast Ohio. With a combined tenure of more than 595 years, we have the education, experience, and dedication to serve the region with distinction!


Our Board

Our Board of Directors is comprised of regional elected officials who strive to increase the vitality of southeast Ohio. These individuals work together to prioritize regional strategies and strengthen the Buckeye Hills vision by impacting positive change in their own communities.

The General Policy Council functions as the overall governing body of Buckeye Hills. The Council is comprised of representatives from across the region, two-thirds of whom are elected public officials. The remaining one-third represent various interests such as business, industry, agriculture, education, health, and issues related to the needs of our vulnerable populations including low-income, elderly, and disabled persons.

The Buckeye Hills Regional Council Executive Committee has 15 members comprised of four non-elected representatives, one minority representative, Mayors of the two largest cities in the District, and eight county representatives appointed by County Commissioners.